Charles Mark Margulies
Charity trustee and company director
| Charles Mark Margulies | |
|---|---|
| Image | |
| Born | |
| Died | |
| Nationality | British |
| Residence | |
| Occupation | Charity trustee, Company director |
| Known for | |
| Parents | |
| Spouse(s) | |
| Children | |
| Sibling(s) | |
| Education | |
| Predecessor | |
| Website | |
Charles Mark Margulies is a charity trustee on the Charity Commission register and a current or former company officer on the Companies House register (born May 1961, British nationality, as published by Companies House). This profile covers public roles only. Companies House officer ID: 0Fnhq4k8VEajOqPArYaMYKI30Nc. Charity Commission trustee ID: 11719597. The Charity Commission and Companies House records are combined because the same name appears as trustee and as director of the same charitable company.[1] Also recorded as "Charles Mark Marguiles" in Charity Commission register entries or Companies House records; these records are combined on this page.
Charity trusteeships
| Charity | Charity number | Role | Date of appointment | Charity status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Newpier Charity Limited | 293686 | Trustee | Not disclosed | Registered | [1] |
| Side By Side (children) Limited | 1135723 | Trustee | 26 July 2020 | Registered | [2] |
| Marg Fleet Limited | 1161562 | Chair | 14 November 2014 | Registered | [3] |
| Premishlaner Charitable Trust | 1046945 | Trustee | Not disclosed | Registered | [4] |
The Charity Commission register lists current trustees only; past trusteeships and resignation dates are not published in the data extract.
Historic trusteeships (archived register snapshots)
First and last archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register listing this name; these are not actual appointment or resignation dates.
| Charity | Charity number | First seen | Last seen | Snapshots | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Newpier Charity Limited | 293686 | 26 July 2017 | 2 January 2019 | 3 | [5][6] |
Companies House directorships and appointments
| Company | Company no. | Role | Status | Appointed on | Resigned on | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Newpier Charity Limited | 01898590 | Secretary Appointed before 15 March 1991 | Active | – | [7] | |
| Newpier Charity Limited | 01898590 | Director | Active | – | [7] | |
| Side By Side (children) Limited | 06962081 | Director | Active | 26 July 2020 | – | [8] |
Other appointments listed under the same Companies House officer ID (role dates are on the linked appointment pages):[9]
- A & T Investments Limited (09942981)
- A & T Sub Limited (13334966)
- Ajam Mha Limited (08106795)
- Bbcc Properties Ltd (14685062)
- Bcm Estates Ltd (13591738)
- Bell Bridge Developments Ltd (14003373)
- Bmr Bagshot Ltd (11189066)
- Bmr Churchill Ltd (11436072)
- Bmr Estates Ltd (13117689)
- Bmr Group Ltd (14227956)
- Bmr Hemini Ltd (12747265)
- Bmr Holloway Ltd (16296647)
- Bmr Hp Ltd (13746436)
- Bmr Islington Ltd (11307594)
- Bmr N15 Limited (14684331)
- Bmr Norbury Ltd (12770416)
- Bmr Shenley Ltd (11085594)
- Bmr Shill Limited (11595904)
- Bmr Sub Ltd (15642150)
- Chertsey Holdings 1 Ltd (15445278)
- Clapham London Properties Limited (08309366)
- Clays Court N16 Ltd (10522692)
- Clerkenwell Green Investments Ltd (05828754)
- Compass Point Homes Limited (14551513)
- Djm Investment Property Limited (15319855)
- Embankment Building And Development Ltd (08278082)
- Epl Propack Uk Limited (02864279)
- Fleetkirk Limited (03065054)
- Fraser Property Ltd (10746182)
- Gladesmore Properties Ltd (10745996)
- Grays Road Investments Ltd (05828718)
- Hallstate Estates Ltd (13802159)
- Hallstate Limited (03068979)
- Kingsbridge Lordship Ltd (05659223)
- Lekat Ltd (07880814)
- Marg Fleet Limited (09312243)
- Marg Management Limited (02591238)
- Marg Partnership Limited (09884596)
- Meadowmoor Estates Ltd (04889690)
- Mha Bellward (hanwell) Ltd. (10446751)
- Mmsm Property Ltd (09649743)
- Nobel Drive Ltd (10684983)
- North London Scaffold Ltd (10222826)
- Queens Stationery Limited (03809632)
- Quenta Limited (09988995)
- Shill Properties Ltd (10397422)
- Side By Side School Ltd (08865604)
- Siyatta Investments Ltd (04809562)
- Siyatta Sub Limited (12689877)
- Stirling Way Developments Ltd (10779363)
- Sutton Partners Ltd (11879664)
- The Manor Road Freehold Limited (05570420)
- Tile Works Lane Limited (09978875)
- Tiverton Estates Limited (14052547)
- Value Estates Ltd (03979140)
- Waterside Court Pd Ltd (15322436)
- Weston Road Investment Sub 1 Ltd (16364646)
- Weston Road Investments Ltd (16324803)
Persons with significant control
| Company | Company no. | Status | Notified on | Ceased on | Nature of control | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Newpier Charity Limited | 01898590 | Active | 6 April 2016 | – | Has significant influence or control | [10] |
In the news
- In February 2026 the First-tier Tribunal (Tax Chamber) allowed an appeal by Newpier Charity Limited, of which he has been a trustee since 1991, against HMRC closure notices. The tribunal found that disputed payments were repayments of a loan, not non-charitable expenditure. Charles Margulies gave evidence.[11]
- In August 2023 the High Court dismissed a claim by Shill Properties Limited, an investment company of which the judgment describes him as a director and shareholder, for specific performance of a contract to buy a house in north London from a 91-year-old owner; the court held there had been no valid exchange of contracts.[12]
- In March 2025 Charles Margulies and BMR Hemini Ltd were convicted at Wimbledon Magistrates' Court of failing to comply with a Wandsworth Council planning enforcement notice. The notice concerned an unauthorised extension to a house in Putney that had been converted into a house in multiple occupation. They were fined £16,000 and ordered to pay £23,554 in council costs and a £3,600 victim surcharge.[13]
See also
- Newpier Charity Limited
- Side By Side (children) Limited
- Marg Fleet Limited
- Premishlaner Charitable Trust
Notes
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 Charity Commission for England and Wales, Newpier Charity Limited trustees Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 15 October 2026; register data extract (trustee table), 13 October 2026.
- ↑ Charity Commission for England and Wales, Side By Side (children) Limited trustees Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 15 October 2026; register data extract (trustee table), 13 October 2026.
- ↑ Charity Commission for England and Wales, Marg Fleet Limited trustees Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 15 October 2026; register data extract (trustee table), 13 October 2026.
- ↑ Charity Commission for England and Wales, Premishlaner Charitable Trust trustees Charity Commission for England and Wales, accessed 15 October 2026; register data extract (trustee table), 13 October 2026.
- ↑ UK Government Web Archive, Newpier Charity Limited – register entry (26 July 2017), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 26 July 2017, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ UK Government Web Archive, Newpier Charity Limited – register entry (2 January 2019), archived snapshot of the Charity Commission register dated 2 January 2019, accessed 14 October 2026.
- ↑ 7.0 7.1 Companies House, Newpier Charity Limited officers Companies House, accessed 15 October 2026.
- ↑ Companies House, Side By Side (children) Limited officers Companies House, accessed 15 October 2026.
- ↑ Companies House, Charles Mark Margulies appointments (officer ID 0Fnhq4k8VEajOqPArYaMYKI30Nc) Companies House, accessed 15 October 2026.
- ↑ Companies House, Newpier Charity Limited persons with significant control Companies House, accessed 15 October 2026.
- ↑ First-tier Tribunal (Tax Chamber), Newpier Charity Limited v The Commissioners for HMRC [2026] UKFTT 321 (TC) Find Case Law, The National Archives, 27 February 2026, accessed 17 October 2026.
- ↑ Shill Properties Limited v Anne Bunch [2023 EWHC 2135 (Ch)] Find Case Law, The National Archives, 25 August 2023, accessed 17 October 2026.
- ↑ Jon Yarker, Landlord fined £43,000 over planning breach BTL Insider, 8 April 2025, accessed 17 October 2026; see also Charlotte Lillywhite (Local Democracy Reporter), West London rogue landlord fined £43k after moving in tenants into unapproved extension MyLondon, 9 April 2025, accessed 17 October 2026.