International Financial Services London

From Powerbase
Jump to: navigation, search

TheCityUK incorporated the functions of the International Financial Services London in 2010. A City of London Corporation news release in May 2010 said:[1]

"IFSL is determined to contribute to the effectiveness of TheCityUK by bringing to it the support of its broad‐based membership of financial services businesses along with its well‐established capability for delivering international promotional activity and publishing research to spread awareness of the international performance of the sector."

History

International Financial Services London (IFSL) (formerly British Invisibles), claims to provide (through its LOTIS (Liberalisation Of Trade In Services) Committee) an effective interface between the private sector and government on a wide range of business, regulatory and market access issues. More specifically, the organisation is said to have close links with government departments, in particular HM Treasury, British Trade International, the Department of Trade and Industry and the Foreign and Commonwealth Office. The overall goal is to speed up liberalisation of trade in services, which is currently regulated by the General Agreement on Trade in Services (GATS). The growing economic importance of services, and the associated business opportunities this opens up, explains the UK government's support for GATS.

Two IFSL working groups, the Liberalisation of Trade in Services (LOTIS) Committee and the High-Level LOTIS Group, constitute a veritable corporate-state alliance.

People

President

HRH The Duke of Kent

Chairman

Executive Directors

Non-Executive Directors

Observers

  • Mr Clive Maxwell, Director, Financial Services, HM Treasury
  • Mr Dominic Jermey, Director, International Sectors Group,UKTI
  • Mr Martin Donnelly CMG, Director-General, Economic, FCO

Members

ABC International Bank Plc www.arabbanking.com | Aberdeen Asset Management plc www.aberdeen-asset.com | Advent UK Ltd www.advent-uk.co.uk | AIG Central Europe & CIS www.aig.co.uk | Allen & Overy LLP www.allenovery.com | AMEC plc www.amec.com | AON Limited www.aon.com/uk/en/ | APCIMS www.apcims.co.uk | ASEAN Regional Business Forum www.aseandirectory.net | Association of British Insurers www.abi.org.uk | Baker & McKenzie www.bakernet.com | Bank of England www.bankofengland.co.uk | Bar Council of England & Wales | Barclays Bank plc www.barclays.co.uk/ | Baring Asset Management www.baring-asset.com Beauchamp & Savrassov Ltd www.bsav.com Berwin Leighton Paisner www.blplaw.com Bevan Brittan LLP www.bevanbrittan.com BMS Associates Limited www.bmands.co.uk British Arab Commercial Bank www.bacb.co.uk British Insurance Brokers' Association www.biba.org.uk British Water www.britishwater.co.uk Calyon www.calyon.com Cass Business School www.cass.city.ac.uk Centre for Effective Dispute Resolution www.cedr.co.uk Chamber of Shipping www.british-shipping.org Chown Dewhurst LLP www.chowndewhurst.com Citigroup www.citigroup.com City of London www.cityoflondon.gov.uk Clifford Chance LLP www.cliffordchance.com Cluttons www.cluttons.com Clyde & Co www.clydeco.com Compass Consulting Confederation of British Industry www.cbi.org.uk Covington & Burling www.cov.com Cubitt Consulting Ltd www.cubitt.com Deloitte & Touche LLP www.deloitte.com Denton Wilde Sapte www.dentonwildesapte.com DLA Piper UK LLP www.dla.com Dresdner Kleinwort Wasserstein www.drkw.com Dundas & Wilson LLP www.dundas-wilson.com EDS www.eds.com Euronext.liffe www.liffe.com Eversheds LLP www.eversheds.com Fasken Martineau DuMoulin LLP www.fasken.com Fidelity International www.fidelity.co.uk Field Fisher Waterhouse www.ffw.com Financial Services for Eastern Europe www.fsee.co.uk Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer www.freshfields.com Goldman Sachs International www.gs.com Grant Thornton LLP www.grant-thornton.co.uk Granville Stephenson www.gs-fs.com/index.asp HBOS plc www.hbosplc.com Herbert Smith LLP www.herbertsmith.com ICE Futures www.theice.com Ince & Co www.ince.co.uk Inframation Limited www.infraresearch.com ING www.ing.com/ Institute of Financial Services www.ifslearning.com Integrated Water Resources International International Capital Market Association Ltd www.icmacentre.rdg.ac.uk International Capital Partnerships International Underwriting Association of London www.iua.co.uk Investment Management Association www.investmentuk.org Jasper Capital Ltd www.jaspercapital.co.uk Jersey Finance Limited www.jerseyfinance.je John Laing www.laing.com JPMorgan www.jpmorganfleming.com/portal.asp Key Trust Company Limited www.key-trust.com/ KPMG www.kpmg.co.uk Latham & Watkins www.lw.com Leeds Financial Services Initiative Ltd www.leedsfinancialservices.org.uk Linklaters www.linklaters.com Lloyd's www.lloyds.com Lloyds TSB Group plc www.lloydstsb.com London Chamber of Commerce & Industry www.londonchamber.co.uk London Court of International Arbitration www.lcia-arbitration.com London First www.london-first.co.uk London Metal Exchange Limited www.lme.co.uk London Metropolitan University www.londonmet.ac.uk/london-office London Stock Exchange www.londonstockexchange.com Lovells www.lovells.com MacDougall Arts Ltd Macquarie Bank Ltd www.macquarie.com.au Marsh Limited www.marsh.co.uk Mayer, Brown, Rowe & Maw LLP www.roweandmaw.co.uk McGrigors www.mcgrigors.com MerchantBridge & Co Limited www.mbih.com

Metdist Trading Limited www.metdist.com Mobsby Assocatiates Limited/PPP Solutions Limited www.mobsbyassociates.com Morgan Stanley & Co. International plc www.morganstanley.com/ National Association of Pension Funds www.napf.co.uk Nomura International plc www.nomura.co.uk Norddeutsche Landesbank www.nordlb.com Norton Rose www.nortonrose.com Nymex Europe Limited Pinsent Masons www.pinsentmasons.com PricewaterhouseCoopers www.pwcglobal.com Pro-Manchester www.pro-manchester.org.uk Prudential plc www.prudential.co.uk Reuters Limited www.reuters.com Royal & SunAlliance Insurance Group plc www.royalsunalliance.com RSM Robson Rhodes LLP www.rsmi.co.uk Scott Wilson Railways Scottish Financial Enterprise www.sfe.org.uk Sector Skills Council for Financial Services www.fssc.org.uk Securities and Investment Institute www.sii.org.uk Serco Group plc www.serco.com Simmons & Simmons www.simmons-simmons.com SMi Group Ltd www.smi-online.co.uk Standard Bank London Ltd www.standardbank.com Standard Chartered Bank plc www.standardchartered.com Stephenson Harwood www.shlegal.com Strutt & Parker www.struttandparker.co.uk TGC www.tgc.pl The Association of Chartered Certified Accountants www.accaglobal.com The Baltic Exchange Ltd www.balticexchange.com The Chartered Institute of Arbitrators www.arbitrators.org The Chartered Institute of Arbitrators www.arbitrators.org The Chartered Institute of Management Accountants www.cimaglobal.com The Chartered Insurance Institute www.cii.co.uk The Commercial Bar Association (COMBAR) www.combar.com The Futures & Options Association www.foa.co.uk The Greek Shipping Co-operation Committee The Institute of Chartered Accountants of England & Wales www.icaew.co.uk The International Securities Consultancy Ltd www.isc-global.com The Japan Society www.japansociety.org.uk The Law Society of England & Wales www.lawsociety.org.uk The PBN Company www.pbnco.com The PPP Club Today Translations Trowers & Hamlins www.trowers.com UBS www.ubswarburg.com/ United Insurance Brokers Ltd www.uib.co.uk Willis Group Limited www.willis.com Withers www.withers.co.uk

Contacts

IFSL 7th Floor 1-2 Bank Buildings Princes Street London, EC2R 8EU United Kingdom

Tel: +44 (0)20 7213 9100 Fax: +44 (0)20 7213 9130
http://www.ifsl.org.uk

References

  1. TheCityUK lays out vision for financial services industry, May 2010